• Campus Karma

Search in this group

Group members


Visva-Bharati University, Santiniketan

Visva-Bharati University, Santiniketan

Group members: 3

0/5 stars (0 votes)

Address: PO : Santiniketan West Bengal, India Pin 731235
Website: http://www.visvabharati.ac.in/index.html
Email: Not Available
Phone: +91(3463)262626
College ID:
Group Profile:
Group Type:
Degree Type:
Course Duration:
Approx Fee:

Visva-Bharati University, Santiniketan

About the college:

Visva-Bharati University (Bengaliবিশ্বভারতী বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়) is one of India's major Central Govt. funded autonomous university located in SantiniketanWest Bengal. It was founded by Rabindranath Tagore who called it Visva Bharati, which means the communion of the world with India. In its initial years Tagore expressed his dissatisfaction with the word 'university', since university translates to Vishva-Vidyalaya, which is smaller in scope than Visva Bharati. Until independence it was a college. Soon after independence, in 1951, the institution was given the status of a university and was renamed Visva Bharati University.The English-daily, The Nation (Thailand) notes,"Using the money he received with his Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913, the school was expanded and renamed Visva-Bharati University. It grew to become one of India's most renowned places of higher learning, with a list of alumni that includes Nobel-winning economist Amartya Sen, globally renowned filmmaker Satyajit Ray and the country's leading art historian, R. Siva Kumar, to name just a few"

Brief Description:

Courses Offer:

The university is divided into institutes, centres, departments and schools. The respective departments are included in the institutes. The university's programmes dealing with its rich cultural heritage as well as art and dance education are funded by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India.

Institutes and museums

  • The Cheena Bhavana (Institute of Chinese Language and Culture) was founded in April 1937 with the great vision of Tagore. Tagore invited Prof. Tan Yunshan to serve as the first chairperson of Cheena Bhavana. International scholars such as Jan Yun-hua worked at the Cheena Bhavana on topics ranging from Sino-Indian studies, Buddhism and Chinese philosophy. Chiang Kai-shek and Zhou Enlai donated a large number of Chinese books to the institute, making it one of the most important libraries for classical Chinese studies in India.
  • Darshan Bhavana (Institute of Philosophy): This department is well known for its research and teaching. Jiten Mohantyhas been associated with the work of this department.
  • The Kala Bhavana (Institute of Fine Arts) is arguably one of the most well-known of the departments, it boasts an extremely well-known faculty and student body. It is most famous for the spread of Bengal School of Art. Abanindranath Tagore, one of India's most eminent artists was one of its founders and chief patrons. Luminaries such as Abanindranath Tagore, Gaganendranath Tagore, Nandalal Bose, Binode Bihari Mukherjee, Ramkinkar Baij, Dinkar Kaushik, K.G. Subramanyan, A. Ramachandran and R. Siva Kumar have either taught or been students here.
  • Palli Charcha Kendra (Sriniketan)
  • Palli-Samgathana Vibhaga (PSV) (Institute of Rural Reconstruction) (Sriniketan)
  • Palli Siksha Bhavana (Institute of Agricultural Science) (Sriniketan)
  • Rabindra Bhavana (Institute of Tagore Studies and Research) (Uttarayan complex): Swapan Chakrabarty is the director of this institution.
  • Sangeet Bhavana (Institute of Dance, Drama & Music): The eminent Rabindrasangeet singer, Kanika Bandyopadhyay was a principal of Sangeet Bhavana.
  • The Siksha Bhavana (Institute of Science) includes the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Centre for Environmental Studies, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science, Botany and Zoology.
  • Silpa Sadan (Institute of Craft and Design) (Sriniketan) is a reputed institute of Visva Bharati engaged in promoting crafts and design education which was set up by Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore in 1922 to uplift craft and craftsmen, thereby improving the rural economy.
  • Computer Centre (Centre for Instruction, Research and Extension Activities)
  • Rural Extension Centre (Sriniketan)
  • The Vidya-Bhavana (Institute of Humanities & Social Sciences) includes the humanities and social science departments, such as the Department of History and the Department of Economics.
  • Vinaya Bhavana (Institute of Education)

Associated institutes

Associate status discontinued since 2006:

  • Bengal Institute of technology and Management (BITM, Santiniketan)
  • IIIT, Kolkata

Both institutes are now affiliated with the West Bengal University of Technology (WBUT), which was formed to bring all engineering education under different universities in West Bengal under a single umbrella. IIIT Kolkata (International Institute of Information Technology) was renamed to IERCEM Institute of Information Technology after its affiliation with the WBUT.


  • Patha Bhavana: It is not only the oldest school of the university but also the oldest institution on which the university was subsequently built. It is the university school of Santiniketan. Initially called Ashram Vidyalaya it was later called Santiniketan Vidyalaya. It was started by Tagore in 1901. The distinctive features of this co-educational school include its open-air classrooms and emphasis upon oriental learning. The school, being the nucleus of the university and the town is within the Santiniketan Ashram. The first four students of the school included Tagore's son Rathindranath Tagore, the first upacharya of the university and Sudhi Ranjan Das, a chief justice of India. The future Nobel Laureate in economics, Amartya Sen, graduated from this school. So did one of the first Indian Rhodes scholars, Asim Datta. Supriyo Tagore, a great grandson of Satyendranath Tagore, the eldest brother of the poet, was one of its longest serving and most well known Principals. The eminent historians, Tapan Raychaudhuri and Ashin Dasgupta have periodically taken classes here.
  • Mrinalini Ananda Pathsala: Founded in 1954 it was named after Rabindranath Tagore's wife Mrinalini Devi. It is a preparatory school for Patha Bhavana. It is housed in the Notun Bari and Dehali.
  • Santosh Pathsala: Founded in 1988 it is kindergarten named after Santosh Chandra Majumdar. It is a preparatory school for Siksha Shastra.
  • Siksha Shatra: It was founded in 1924. It was later shifted to Sriniketan in 1927. The students are from the neighbouring villages.
  • Uttar Shiksha Sadana: This school was started in 1976.




Other Information: