• Campus Karma

Search in this group

Group members


Harcourt Butler Technological Institute (HBTI), Kanpur

Harcourt Butler Technological Institute (HBTI), Kanpur

Group members: 2

0/5 stars (0 votes)

Address: Harcourt Butler Technical University, Nawabganj, Kanpur (U.P.) – 208 002
Website: http://www.hbtu.ac.in/
Email: registrar@hbtu.ac.in
Phone: +91-512-2534001-05
College ID:
Group Profile:
Group Type:
Degree Type:
Course Duration:
Approx Fee:

Harcourt Butler Technological Institute (HBTI), Kanpur

About the college:

Harcourt Butler Technical University (popularly known as HBTU) is a government technical university located at Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh in India. The HBTU was named after Sir Spencer Harcourt Butler, governor of the United Provinces in British India. All Its programs have been conferred in autonomous status under the university. It is one of the oldest engineering institutes in the country and holds the ISO 9001:2000 certification. It offers Bachelors, Masters, and Doctoral programs in engineering, as well as Masters programs in Business Administration, and Computer Applications.

In 1959, when the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IITK) was established, its classes were initially held in the canteen building of HBTU until IITK had its own campus. HBTU is the mother institute of the National Sugar Institute (in 1936, then known as Imperial Institute of Sugar Technology), the Government Central Textile Institute (in 1937), now known as the Uttar Pradesh Textile Technology Institute, and the Glass Institute. It was also one of the 127 technical institutions in India which were the recipients of funding from World Bank's International Development Association (IDA) in the phase one (2004-2009) of the Technical Engineering Educational Quality Improvement Project (TEQIP) - the first World Bank project in Higher education in India.

Brief Description:

Courses Offer:

HBTU offers its students a vide variety of UG and PG courses, awarding the following degrees:

  • Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech.)
  • Master of Computer Applications (MCA)
  • Master of Technology (M.Tech.)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA) (through STEP-HBTU)

B.Tech. courses are offered in 13 fields of engineering and technology. All have been accredited by the National Board of Accreditation (NBA) of All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE):

  • Chemical Engineering
  • Electronics Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Information Technology
  • Biochemical Engineering
  • Chemical Technology - Food Technology
  • Chemical Technology - Leather Technology
  • Chemical Technology - Oil Technology (not Petroleum)
  • Chemical Technology - Paint Technology
  • Chemical Technology - Plastic Technology

Oil Technology is the oldest course being offered by the college. Till 1970, HBTU also conducted courses in Sugar Technology, Textile Technology, and Glass Technology, but subsequently, three new institutes — the National Sugar Institute, Government Central Textile Institute, now known as Uttar Pradesh Textile Technology Institute, and Glass Institute — were created out of the respective departments.

In addition to bachelor level programs, MCA, M.Tech. (part-time and regular), MBA (through STEP-HBTU), and Doctoral programs in several disciplines of engineering, technology, and basic sciences are available. Besides playing an academic role, the institute runs research programs sponsored by government institutions and other research organizations. The institute is a QIP (Quality Improvement Programme of MHRD, Govt. of India) centre for offering Ph.D. programme in Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Chemical Engineering, and Electronics Engineering with two seats in each discipline for teachers.




Other Information: