• Campus Karma

Search in this group

Group members


Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bhubaneswar

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bhubaneswar

Group members: 1

0/5 stars (0 votes)

Address: Samantapuri (Rearside of Hotel Swosti Plaza) Bhubaneswar - 751013
Website: http://www.iitbbs.ac.in/
Email: info@iitbbs.ac.in
Phone: +91 674 2306 300 / +91 674 2301 337
College ID:
Group Profile:
Group Type:
Degree Type:
Course Duration:
Approx Fee:

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bhubaneswar

About the college:

Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar is an "engineering and technology" higher education institute, located at Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India. It is one of the eight new Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) established by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India under The Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act, 2011 which establishes the eight new IITs as well as declares IT-BHU as Indian Institute of Technology. The Act was passed in the Lok Sabha on 24 March 2011 and by the Rajya Sabha on 30 April 2012. It started functioning from the campus of IIT Kharagpur on 23 July 2008 and shifted its operation to the city of Bhubaneswar on 22 July 2009.

The institute admits students into B. Tech, M. Tech and Ph.D. programs. The classes are held in Bhubaneswar city. The academic session begins in July each year. Currently, Prof. R.V. Rajakumar is the acting director of the institute till a regular and full-time is appointed.

Brief Description:

Courses Offer:

Undergraduate programs

B. Tech programs

Undergraduate programs leading to the following degrees are being offered,

  • Bachelor of Technology in Civil Engineering
  • Bachelor of Technology in Computer Science
  • Bachelor of Technology in Electrical Engineering
  • Bachelor of Technology in Mechanical Engineering
  • Bachelor of Technology in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering.

Integrated M. Tech Programs

Integrated five year programs for undergraduate students leading to M. Tech degrees is offered by IIT Bhubaneswar to excel in research.

Postgraduate programs

M.Tech Programs

Institute offers Joint M.Tech — Ph.D. programs in all its schools except for the Schools of Basic Sciences and Humanities, Social Sciences & Management.

Ph.D. Programs

Institute has been admitting students into Ph.D. programs since 2009. The following five schools admit Ph.D. students

  • School of Infrastructure
  • School of Electrical Sciences
  • School of Mechanical Sciences
  • School of Basic Sciences
  • School of Humanities, Social Sciences & Management
  • School of Minerals, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering
  • School of Earth, Ocean and Climate Sciences




Other Information: