• Campus Karma

Search in this group

Group members


Kuvempu University, Shimoga

Kuvempu University, Shimoga

Group members: 2

0/5 stars (0 votes)

Address: Jnanasahyadri Shankaraghatta, Shivamogga, Karnataka 577451
Website: http://www.kuvempu.ac.in/
Email: Not Available
Phone: 082822 56301
College ID:
Group Profile:
Group Type:
Degree Type:
Course Duration:
Approx Fee:

Kuvempu University, Shimoga

About the college:

Kuvempu University is a public state university located in Shimoga, Karnataka, India. It was established in 1987 by the act of the Karnataka state legislature through an amendment No.28/1976 dated 29 January 1989 under the Karnataka State University Act 1976. The university offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs in wide range of disciplines. It occupies 230 acres (0.93 km2) of land. The university was recognized by the UGC in 1994 and is a member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU). The university has its headquarters at Jnana Sahyadri Campus, Shimoga. Its campus is called Jnana Sahyadri, which means The Western Ghat section of knowledge. It has as university jurisdiction over malnad districts of Shimoga and Chikmagalur, through which the Sahyadri mountain ranges pass. It also covers districts of Davangere and Chitradurga but now the two places have their own universities, hence is limited to affiliating research centers just like anywhere else in India. The campus sprawls across an area of 230 acres. The campus inmates can find some admixture of wild animals and domestic animals. Nature was never so beautiful before like it is inside Jnana Sahyadri.

Brief Description:

Courses Offer:

School of Languages, Literature and Fine Arts

  • Department of Kannada
  • Department of English
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Urdu
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of Fine Arts

School of Social Sciences

  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of History and Archaeology
  • Department of Social Work (Jnana Sahyadri Campus) (Shivagangotri Campus)
  • Department of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Department of Adult Continuing Education and Field Outreach

School of Economics and Business Studies

  • Department of Economics (Jnana Sahyadri Campus) (Jnana Sahyadri Campus) (Shivagangotri Campus)
  • Department of Business Economics (MBE) (P.G. Centre, Kadur)
  • Department of Commerce (Jnana Sahyadri Campus) (Shivagangotri Campus)
  • Department of Accounting and Finance
  • Department of Business Administration (Jnana Sahyadri Campus) (Shivagangotri Campus)(P.G. Centre, Kadur)
  • Department of Tourism Administration
  • Department of Master of Banking, Finance and Insurance

School of Physical Sciences

  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Computer Sciences
  • Department of Computer Applications (MCA)
  • Department of Industrial Mathematics and Computer Applications
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Electronics
  • Department of Library and Information Science

School of Chemical Sciences

  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Industrial Chemistry
  • Department of Biochemistry (Jnana Sahyadri Campus) (Shivagangotri Campus)
  • Department of Organic Chemistry
  • Department of Analytical Chemistry
  • Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry

School of Bio Sciences

  • Department of Applied Zoology
  • Department of Wild Life Management
  • Department of Applied Botany
  • Department of Biotechnology
  • Department of Bioinformatics
  • Department of Microbiology (Jnana Sahyadri Campus) (Shivagangotri Campus)
  • Department of Clinical Psychology

School of Earth Science and Environmental Sciences

  • Department of Applied Geology
  • Department of Remote Sensing Application
  • Department of Water Management and water harvesting
  • Department of Environmental Science

Department of Law

  • Department of LL.M (Business Law)

Department of Education

  • Department of Education (Jnana Sahyadri Campus) (Shivagangotri Campus)
  • Department of Physical Education

Research centre
Centre for the Study of Local Cultures (CSLC). This is actually a joint venture with the university of Ghent, Belgium. This involves studying the local tribal and village cultures from a scientific perspective and understanding the modern life changes -resulting in a postgraduate diploma in 6 months.




Other Information: